top of page

Meet the Woman Making a Change in Hollywood



Samantha Baugnon is an actress and producer from Austin, Texas. At the age of 20, she moved to LA to pursue a career in the entertainment industry and, despite not knowing anyone, worked her way up to the position of Creative Executive at K Factor Films. Having one feature film under her belt and a number of new projects in the works, Baugnon sat down with The Collective to talk about her passion for the industry, her advice for aspiring filmmakers, and her commitment to making the industry a more inclusive space.


When did you first know that you wanted to be in the film industry?

My first passion is acting. It was around high school when I knew that this was what I wanted to pursue. I was always that kid who looked up IMDB all the time. My friends didn't know what IMDB was then. I wasn't a theater kid or anything--I was in sports--but I always knew who every actor was in every movie and show I loved. If I loved somebody, I would watch every movie they had been in up to that point. I was kind of studying in my own way.


When I moved out to LA to pursue acting I didn't know a single person, which was crazy. I still act to this day, but producing comes very naturally to me. Even though I'm still learning a lot, the organization and all the behind the scenes stuff is just something that's in my wheel house.


What inspires you about making movies?

The way they make me feel. I love coming out of a movie after it made me laugh or it made me cry. I always appreciate the movies and shows that do that for me, so that's what I want to do for other people.


You get a much bigger appreciation for movie making when you're behind the camera.

Oh yeah. Before I was even producing, I was like "I wanna learn what everyone does" because--as you know--there are so many roles. It's insane how many people it takes to make even a short film. So I always wanted to learn what everyone did and how it all got put together. I'm still learning. It's so interesting to me.


K Factor Films' mission statement references a commitment to female empowerment and equality, with a particular emphasis on female filmmakers. How did your most recent feature, "Night Night", contribute to that goal?

Though it is sad that this is an exciting thing to say, one of the ways is how many female and nonbinary people worked on the film. We were just applying for something for "Night Night" and 60-70% of our entire crew is female or nonbinary. It's sad that it's even an accomplishment, but it's great. The other way is that it's a female thriller lead. I honestly can't think of many thrillers that are female lead where they're strong and they're obviously going through something but they're trying to overcome it. "Night Night" is all about a girl named April Davis. She's the center and she's the one going through everything and I think people are going to be excited to see that.

That is so wonderful to hear! The mission statement also mentions a commitment to diversity and propelling overlooked filmmakers. How do you see that commitment applying to the topic of racial diversity in Hollywood both on and off screen?

Moving here when I was 20, I didn't know know a single person. I am white, so I do have that advantage, and there were people who helped me along the way. I've always been that type of person who wants to help other people. I have met some people who are just in it for themselves; if that works for you great, but that's just not how I roll. The four of us in the company are all the same vibe. We have the same goals with that. When I'm climbing the ladder to success, if someone is giving me a hand, I always have to reach down and give other people a hand. So, we really want to make a commitment to help people who are overlooked. Whoever that may be. Just show us your skills and you're in.


What advice would you give to aspiring filmmakers?

Stick with it. If you feel like it's what you were put on this earth to do, keep going and keep meeting people. We all wish to be that person who moves to LA and becomes successful within a month. For the two people that happens to: great for them. But for those it doesn't: bide your time and don't give up. The longer you're here, the more people you meet. Hollywood is actually a really small town, even though there are a ton of people in LA. I meet people who know other people in the most random ways. That's how I ended up on this movie. Niki Koss, the founder of K Factor Films, and I met in an acting class and then I was her assistant for a few years and then it just naturally developed to me working on the same projects she was working on. Now we have a company together. So, you never know what something is going to turn into.


To stay up to date with Samantha Baugnon, follow her on instagram here.



317 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page